To celebrate its 40th Anniversary this year Heritage Caledon is producing a number of downloadable walking tours of the built heritage of Caledon’s charming early settlements. Known today as a ‘Community of Communities’, within its extensive and largely unspoiled rural geography the Town of Caledon is blessed with a variety of historic and visit-worthy villages and hamlets. At this point Bolton, Caledon East, Caledon Village, Cheltenham, Inglewood and Terra Cotta are each up as a downloadable pdf on the Town’s website. Alton, Palgrave and Belfountain are to come. Under development is an interactive version of these tours for handheld internet-connected devices.
Terra Cotta, 260 King Street, mill owner’s house of early 1860s – This large 1½ storey Victorian brick home was built for mill owner Simon Plewes, possibly for his 1863 marriage to Janet Smith. With a commanding river view, it overlooked his grist and saw mills. The red bricks were likely locally made from the abundant nearby clay and are contrasted with yellow brick quoins and decorative patterning. Simon and Janet had six children before he accidentally drowned in the mill race in 1876. In the Plewes’ family until 1894.
Bolton old village, 62 Queen Street North, foundry showroom circa 1880s – Built by William Dick, this building was originally used as a showroom for products from the Dick Agricultural Works such as plows, wagons, sleighs. From 1888 to 1900 it housed Herbert Bolton’s newly purchased newsweekly ‘The Enterprise’. Frank Leavens, who was initially hired as editor, purchased the newspaper and printing operation in 1893. From 1901 it housed real estate and insurance businesses starting with Jack McDonald. By the 1950s, it had been retrofitted as a restaurant for Art Betts’ ‘Village Grill’, later the ‘Riverside Grill’, and currently the ‘Black Bull Pub and Eatery’.
Up-to-date photographs are included for each featured building.